Wiping my mac hard drive clean

How to Reset Mac to Factory Settings

Before performing any other steps, make sure the data on your Mac Mini is preserved by backing it up to an external hard drive or other device. A power failure or other glitch might disrupt the process of erasing the Mini, leaving it in a "scrambled" unusable state that may be difficult to recover.

Launch the iTunes app.

Exit iTunes. Click the Apple menu. The computer will ask whether you want to keep a copy of your iCloud data on the Mac. Click Keep a Copy.

Deactivate iTunes Account

Your messages remain accessible to other devices; this step merely disconnects the account from the Mac Mini. In the Messages app, click the Messages menu, click Preferences , then click Accounts. Select your iMessage account, then click Sign Out. Optionally, remove the settings from your Mini of any Bluetooth devices for which it might be paired.

How to Clean & Erase a Mac Mini

Click the Apple menu and click System Preferences. Click Bluetooth.

Hover the mouse pointer over the device s you want to unpair. An " x " button appears when you do; click it to unpair the device. After you perform these steps, you'll need a wired USB keyboard and mouse to use the Mini.


  • brother mac no scanner selected.
  • word for mac free templates;
  • Selling Your Mac? Here's How To Restore Your Mac To Factory Settings | BrothaTech.
  • la touche tab sur mac.

Restart your Mac Mini and hold down the Command-R keys while it's booting back up. This opens the desktop with a macOS Utilities window in the middle.

Create a backup

If you see any other screen — like a login screen or your usual desktop — that means you didn't hold down Command-R soon enough or long enough. Try again. When the Utilities window appears. Click Disk Utility in the Utilities window.

How to erase your old MacBook before selling it

Select Macintosh HD and click Erase to erase the data on your hard drive. Do not skip backups of your stuff! If you want to completely erase the Mac and get a factory reset Mac OS X version that is blank and back to default settings as if the computer was brand new, this is the process to achieve that. This will reset Mac to the factory default version of Mac OS X on the computer, everything else will be removed in the process. On the other hand if you are setting it up yourself, go ahead and go through the initial setup process, it will be just like it was when the Mac was brand new, requiring setup of the user account and system software, setting up as a clean slate of factory default settings.

No personal data will remain on the Mac, no apps, no files, nothing, it is entirely wiped clean of all data and then a fresh factory version of Mac OS X system software has been installed. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction without explicit permission is prohibited.

How to Wipe a Mac Clean to Sell/Give Away

Subscribe to OSXDaily. Follow OSXDaily. News - Beta 3 of MacOS How to Reset Mac to Factory Settings This guide walks through exactly how to reset and restore a Mac to original factory settings.